Deleted
Posts: 0
Deleted said great things
|
Post by Deleted on May 14, 2011 4:33:13 GMT -8
Hi Wormo
I was hoping to get a Nav box on my forum just like yours
Would you be able to knock up something i can use to do this
My skills on coding/html are poor
Thanks
|
|
|
Post by Wormopolis on May 14, 2011 6:53:12 GMT -8
the box I have on my left is a combo of HTML and 3 codes www.wormocodes.com/index.cgi?board=codedb&action=display&thread=9www.wormocodes.com/index.cgi?board=codedb&action=display&thread=386www.wormocodes.com/index.cgi?board=codedb&action=display&thread=2the third code has an additonal code that I dont think I have published: <script type="text/javascript"> <!-- // PM memberlist drop down - anywhere // by Wormopolis - www.wormocodes.com // requires code above this // requires an element with id="pm_memlist" for placement
nw_nSel=document.createElement('select'); var tmpopt=document.createElement('option'); tmpopt.value=''; tmpopt.innerHTML="Send Member PM"; nw_nSel.appendChild(tmpopt); nw_nSel.onchange=function() {location.href="/index.cgi?action=pmsend&to="+this.options[this.selectedIndex].value;} for (jsm=0;jsm<master_mem_list.length;jsm++) { d_name=master_mem_list_DN[jsm]; u_name=master_mem_list[jsm]; ne_opt=document.createElement("option"); nw_nSel.appendChild(ne_opt); ne_opt.value=u_name; ne_opt.innerHTML=d_name; } if (document.getElementById('pm_memlist')) document.getElementById('pm_memlist').appendChild(nw_nSel);
// --> </script>
the HTML part is trickier. you will want to start with the nav box HTML code located in that thread. then expand that table with the additional rows for the other 2 codes.
|
|
Deleted
Posts: 0
Deleted said great things
|
Post by Deleted on May 14, 2011 7:05:29 GMT -8
Sorry mate im confused already Couldnt you post me the whole code with the div tags and where i need to put it
|
|
|
Post by Wormopolis on May 14, 2011 7:49:56 GMT -8
lets do this in parts. if you throw in the whoel thing at once it will be harder to troubleshoot.
go to the floating nav box code page. get the global footer part, and the part for the floating table. lets start there.
|
|
Deleted
Posts: 0
Deleted said great things
|
Post by Deleted on May 14, 2011 7:52:50 GMT -8
|
|
|
Post by Wormopolis on May 14, 2011 8:14:43 GMT -8
you have CSS that forces all tables tobe 700 px wide.
this can be circumvented by changing the class of the nav box to be "navboxborder" instead of "bordercolor", and using some CSS to give nvboxborder some attributes.
|
|
Deleted
Posts: 0
Deleted said great things
|
Post by Deleted on May 14, 2011 8:20:07 GMT -8
you have CSS that forces all tables tobe 700 px wide. this can be circumvented by changing the class of the nav box to be "navboxborder" instead of "bordercolor", and using some CSS to give nvboxborder some attributes. Do you have any recommended CSS code i could use to do that id like to make the text a little easier to see and change the border color too "000000"
Ive changed the class to navboxborder the size has now been fixed but not sure about the border colour Ive managed that Whats next
|
|
|
Post by Wormopolis on May 15, 2011 0:56:54 GMT -8
ok, so here is your floating navbox HTML:
<div width="10%" id="floatNav"> <table cellspacing="1" cellpadding="0" border="0" align="left" valign="top" width="200" bgcolor="000000" class="navboxborder"> <tr><td> <table border="0" width="100%" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0"> <tr> <td align="left" valign="top" class="welcomebg" bgcolor="1e1e1e"> <div valign="top" id="nvtree"></div> </td> </tr> </table> <tr><td>
<div id="threadlog"></div> </td></tr> </td></tr></table></div>
you have a threadlog div in there already, so next you need to add the threadlog code to your global footer.
|
|
Deleted
Posts: 0
Deleted said great things
|
Post by Deleted on May 15, 2011 1:26:03 GMT -8
Hi Wormo I already have the thread code in there One thing i have noticed is that it doesnt appear unless you visit a thread first Edit: I had the code in my footers twice Could i have a bit of CSS to change it a little I want the Background colour to be 1e1e1e and would it be possible to have seperators between each 1 for example Daily Thread Log ___________________________________________ Floating Nav Box inc Thread Log & Dropdown |11:44 ___________________________________________ Last Poster Wins! | 11:05 ___________________________________________ Flames | 11:01 And also have the text centered so it looks a little tidier
|
|
|
Post by Wormopolis on May 15, 2011 11:05:38 GMT -8
you said you couldnt see this in IE?
|
|
Deleted
Posts: 0
Deleted said great things
|
Post by Deleted on May 15, 2011 11:42:52 GMT -8
No i cant see this forum in IE it keeps switching me from replying to a thread and the home page
Im using Firefox at moment
Would it be possible to add the lines in ?
|
|
|
Post by Wormopolis on May 15, 2011 13:38:05 GMT -8
yeah the lines can be added.
just trying to recreate the IE problem you are having. its not doing it to me.
|
|
Deleted
Posts: 0
Deleted said great things
|
Post by Deleted on May 15, 2011 14:21:11 GMT -8
Ok thats good how can i do it And i have no idea why its doing it then
|
|
|
Post by Wormopolis on May 15, 2011 14:24:24 GMT -8
<style type="text/css"> .TL_title {font-size: 12pt;} .TL_threadEntry {font_size: 8pt;} .TL_timeEntry {font-size: 8pt; width: 60px; text-align: right; vertical-align: top;} </style>
that is the CSS that comes with the code. you can add the horizontal lines in with that
the problem you are going to have is the centering thing. everything is currently in a table, with the thread name on the left and the time on the right. if you change it to be thread title | time all on one line, then its going to wrap to multiple lines and put the time at the bottom.
|
|
Deleted
Posts: 0
Deleted said great things
|
Post by Deleted on May 15, 2011 14:56:01 GMT -8
<style type="text/css"> .TL_title {font-size: 12pt;} .TL_threadEntry {font_size: 8pt;} .TL_timeEntry {font-size: 8pt; width: 60px; text-align: right; vertical-align: top;} </style> that is the CSS that comes with the code. you can add the horizontal lines in with that the problem you are going to have is the centering thing. everything is currently in a table, with the thread name on the left and the time on the right. if you change it to be thread title | time all on one line, then its going to wrap to multiple lines and put the time at the bottom. But surely if the table is wide enough it should be fine ?
|
|